Onalaska, Ilwaco shine at Montesano


Onalaska, Ilwaco shine on Monte's track
By The Daily World staff
Wednesday, September 6, 2006 10:57 AM PDT

Cross Country

MONTESANO — Onalaska's Spencer Hunt and Ilwaco's Kelly Freese took individual honors at a seven-school cross country meet hosted by Montesano on Tuesday at the Friends Landing course.

Hunt won the boys race with a time of 17:22 for 3.1 miles. Freese took the girls event in 20:55.

Onalaska captured the boys team victory with 25 points, 23 ahead of runner-up Montesano. No school fielded a complete girls team.

Montesano's Zach Harris was the highest Twin Harbors boys finisher, taking fifth at 18:44.

North Beach's Amanda Erickson led the Harbor girls contingent with a sixth-place finish. Montesano's Dani West, who placed seventh, was competing despite a high ankle sprain.

"We're pretty young, so it was a good outing for us to see what we could do," said Monte coach Doug Schupbach. "I was happy they came out and competed, but we're going to improve as the season goes on."


Onalaska 25, Montesano 48, Rainier 79, Forks 85, North Beach 122, Ilwaco incomplete, Willapa Valley incomplete.

1. Spencer Hunt (Ona) 17:22 for 3.1 miles. course. 2. Carl Jackson (I) 17:47. 3. Stephen Berglund (I) 17:48. 4. Quinton Vickaryous (Ona) 18:16. 5. Zach Harris (Monte) 18:44.

Other Harborites:

7. Jared Larson (Monte). 12. Curt McConnell (Monte). 14. Derek Moore (NB). 15. Chris Riso (Monte). 19. Laurentius Sommer (Monte). 21. Justin Stillwell (Monte). 25. Howard Johnson (NB). 26. Nico Romiejin-Stout (Monte). 28. Kyle Cokeley (Monte). 29. Mike Berry (Monte). 30. Nate Paro (NB).


1. Kelly Freese (I) 20:55. 2. Karissa Owen (Rain) 21:39. 3. Megan Wrzesinski (Ona). 22:01. 4. Chanda Rommey (F) 22:41. 5. Sarah Funk (Rain) 22:50.

Other Harborites:

6. Amanda Erickson (NB). 7. Dani West (Monte). 8. Carly Rogers (NB). 12. Alyssa Dianovich (NB). 13. Larissa Rohr (WV). 14. Sarah Kinney (WV).