Northwest Review- Week Four

Action in the Northwest picked up with some Oregon teams joining their Alaskan counterparts  and even one  Idaho  team taking part in the action.  Alaska had a good  deal of races and Allie Ostrander won another big meet in runaway fashion.   Oregon’s top race was the Wilsonville Invitational, which was already posted on the Oregon page but Claire DeVoe of Lincoln and Jackson Baker deserve special mention for their efforts.

             Colony Invitational

   Allie Ostrander won her third meet of the season yesterday, when she laid claim to the Colony Invitational.  As at Bartlett she ran away from her all challengers and won by over a minute.   Her time is hard to compare with anything as the course was different from other years and was run at a unique  
distance of 4,810 meters but it was obviously quite fast.  Her Kenai team mate Bailey Beeson finished second in 18:21 and was followed Audrey Michaelson in third with 18:28.  Defending 3A State champion Kailey Wilson came home fifth (18:40) and was followed by Hope Steffensen of Kenai, who ran 18:42.  Bailey  Meier of Colony, Hana Bohman of Palmer, Elle Arnold of Grace Christian, Eliza   
Rorabaugh of West Valley & Claire Trujillo of grace rounded out the top ten and Ellen Jorgeson of Palmer ran 18:58 for eleventh abd was the last girl to break nineteen minutes.
     Kuba Grzeda battled with his West Valley team mate Peter Noon and came out the winner by a second with a time of 15:23. Mason Minturn of Palmer ran alone to place third in 15:53. Erich Hoefler of West Valley placed fourth  ahead of defending 3A State champion John Klein of Grace. Mikko Sayre of West
Valley topped Daniel Servent of Grace for sixth, while Schler Knopp of Palmer, Max Donaldson of West Valley & Jordan Theisen of Kenai rounded out the top ten.

                Seward Invitational

    The 2011 Seward Invitational was held last Friday on the Seward Trails course again this year and rub over a distance of 5K.  Wasilla runners Mariah Burroughs and Peggy Mathis went 1 - 2 and led their to an overwhelming victory.   Burroughs' winning time was 19:18 and gave her a margin of two seconds over her team mate.   Bree Mucha of Soldotna earned third in a time of 19:46.  Her team mate Danielle McCormick placed fourth but Wasilla slated away the team victory by claiming the next three places as Jessica Pahkala, Jenna Ford & Riley Burroughs garnered fifth through seventh respectively.   Homer's Cassidy Soistman (21:12) was the only runner to crack the top ten, who was not from Wasilla or Soldotna.
    Miles Knotek of Seward ran away from any would-be challengers as he was clocked in 16:37 and earned a victory by over half a minute. Knotek's time improved upon the record of 16:49 established by Kodiak's Dylan Anthony in 2009.  Skyview's Micha Hilbish placed second with a mark of 17:16. Matt Moore of Seward earned third ahead of Noah Ripley and Brendan Lee of Wasilla.   The boys' team championship was annexed by Seward, which had a low of 47 points.  Wasilla & Skyview placed second & third with 57 & 64 points respectively.    

                Big Eight Pre-Regionals

    Freshman Lydia Blanchet turned the tables on Service's Jenette Northey by winning the Big Eight Pre-Regional Meet at kincaid park on Friday.  It marked the her first triumph as a prep, as she won by two seconds in a time of 18:55.  Northey of coursee placed second at State  in 2010 and it augurs well for Lydia.
The pair was well ahead of third place finisher Sarah Freistone of Dimond, who ran 19:21.   Rachel Roelle of West Anchorage finished fourth in 19L26 and Grace Graham of East took fifth in 19:42.   Amelia Hennessy's time of 19:49 was good for sixth, while Hannah Stevens of Eagle River & Katie Weddleton of West were the final runners to break twenty minutes on the 5K Kayla Blackmore of West
(20:05) & Tsaina Mahlen (20:13) of South rounded out the top ten.   
    Max Romey and John Farr battled in the guys' race but Romey of Service gained the victory with a time of 16:46.  East Anchorage's Farr placed  second in 16;50, while Tim Soerenson of Chugiak edged Garth Schulz of Service for third 17:04 - 17:05.3.  David McPheters, also from Chugiak, was right behind as he ran 17:05.9.   Service runners led by Lucas Schemme in sixth then completed the team victory with
placements of tenth & eleventh to easily outdistance Chugiak 33 to 66.   
    The West Girls won their team race by a margin of 40 to  62 over Dimond, while Eagle River was third with 81.  The meet features the teams from the Cook Inlet Conference.

                Pendleton icebreaker

       Lucas Simpson of McLoughlin won the Pendleton Icebreaker with a time of 18:14 by finishing 25 seconds ahead of Bill Weyekin of Pendleton.  Kevin Robinson of Pendleton claimed third with 18:52.   In the girls' race Josie Lonai of McLoughlin triumphed with a time of 21:42.  Sandy Torres of Pendleton placed second with 22:09 & Sarah Hubbard of the host team took third with 24:07.  

                Vale Halftime Invitational

     Katriel O’Reilly won the girls’ varsity race at Vale with a time of 10:57.   The Union runners topped Vale’s Kassie Anthony by two seconds.  Madison Winn of Burns placed third with 11:03.  Kiki Rau of Horseshoe Bend in Idaho was the states top finisher with a time of 13:38.    Nic Maszk of Baker topped the guys at Vale with a time of 10:26 for 3K.  Mike O’Reilly of Union earned second with 10:32.  Union runners Ken Sipp & Micah Brazil placed third & fourth, while William Densmore of LaGrande took fifth.

                Steel Bucket

        Valley of the Moon Park in Anchorage was the sight of the annual Steel Bucket Cup, which matches the teams from Dimond  and West Anchorage.    The winning team gets to  paint the cup with their school colors and the West Anchorage girls get the honor after winning the relay race, while the Dimond  boys won their race.   Lydia Blanchet of  West had the fastest split of the girls with 9:04 for 2.5K.  Sarah Freistone of Dimond (9:11) & Rachel Roelle of WA (9:13) had the next best splits.   Kerrick Eagle of  Dimond & Konnor Petersen of West were both credited with 8:01 splits, while Max Dan of West was timed in 8:08.

Caldwell Invitational

     Emily Nist of Bishop Kelly backed up her earlier victory in the jimmy Driscoll meet with a triumph at Caldwell.  Her winning time of 18:52 gave her plenty of clearance over Mikayla Malaspina of Vallivue, who ran 19:19.  Briana Tiffany of  BK placed third with 19:20, while Katie Nichols of Centennial earned fourth (19:26) ahead of Rebecca Lassere, who ran 19:28 for Bishop Kelly.  Boise topped Bishop Kelly in the team race.   Justin Ross of Rocky Mountain won his second invitational of the year by adding Caldwell to his earlier trophy at the Driscoll.  His winning time of 16:23 topped Conor Smith of Eagle by three seconds.   Jordan Wallin of Rocky Mountain finished third with 16:28.   Wallin had placed second earlier at Camelsback.

                Cardinal Classic

       Dallin Farnsworth of Highland was the big news at this meet after obliterating the course record with a time of 16:08.   The defending State champion won by almost fifty seconds over Jake Meeker of Mountain View.   The meet included teams from Utah, which enhances Farnsworth’s stock as we look to the end of the season.   Lara Young of Bingham edged Samantha Mckinnon of Mountain View by  a second with her time of 19:43.  Mckinnon had previously won the Camelsback Invitational.    Hailey Ricks of St. V. earned third with 20:21.